A Letter To The Daughter I May Never Have

Some words to describe the stage I’m not yet entering, because I still can’t stay in one place long enough to have a cockroach-infested apartment or to meet a potential father or the desire to do such things. But uncertainty, fear and a screwed up world are already present themes in my potential futures.

amanda trusty says

My dearest daughter,

I’m writing this to you at age 27, at which point I still don’t know how to change a diaper.

And I have to tell you right away, I live in a world where planes crash unexpectedly, and love doesn’t always win, and I eat pesticides for breakfast. My neighbors fight when they’re drunk and my friends have cancer and twelve-year-old students sell pot out of their lockers at school. I’m sorry darling, but this world is no place for a child.

I’m looking at a beautiful bouquet of flowers on the kitchen table that your potential daddy bought me three days ago and they’re wilted because I forgot to change the water. The sink is dirty and the recycling bin smells like sour milk and Coca-Cola. My home is no place for a child to grow.

But goodness it would be so gorgeous to meet you…

View original post 2,769 more words

add your voice

