Tartagal Again

We stopped in Tartagal for a short four hours, but I got my interviews and I got to see the family that I stayed with the last time! I also had time to get bitten over 30 times by the flea/horsefly/gnat things. 

I love being part of the ADRA team. People keep asking me to explain what ADRA is, and it’s fun to try to explain in Castellano (until I can direct them to the directores.) I am proud to be able to explain an agency that I know firsthand is dedicated to development and empowering people.

I don’t know how to explain how I’ve been feeling the past few days, with all that’s been going on, but I feel fulfilled somehow. I think it’s because I have a purpose, a specific goal with my camera, and I’m engaged creatively, mentally and socially. 

 

A funny thing happened this morning on Facebook! I left my account open in Rivadavia, apparently, because one of the kids posted a long paragraph on my profile. He made it seem as though I had gone through a huge, life-changing experience, saying that I had searched deep inside my soul and finally changed the way that I saw the entire world, changing my whole life (and he added a little poetry, too.) At the end, he said that I was vulnerable, too, because I had left my Facebook open for whoever wanted to come and be a poet on my status. After I finished laughing, I realized that he was not far from the truth. My experience here in Argentina, with ADRA, has been very influential, and I know that I’ll go back to California a different person with different ideas and different goals. I’m so, SO grateful for my time here and what I’m learning from my fellow volunteers, the indigenous populations and my cameras. 

add your voice

